My Chex Mix Recipes

In my quest to be as gluten free as possible, I searched for a snack for me to munch on that was crunchy and I found a few. Below is my version of what I found.

Gluten Free Chex Mix

8 cups of rice Chex cereal

2 lightly salted Shoprite Rice Cakes

6 tablespoons of Smart Balance Butter

Teaspoon of salt

Tablespoon of NuSalt Zesty Italian

Pre-heat the oven to 200

Put Rice Chex in bowl; crush rice cakes into small pieces

Mix with Rice Chex

Melt butter in small pan with salt and Nu Salt

Slowly drip the melted mixture over the chex and rice cakes.

Stir the mixture each time and place it in a shallow baking pan

Line the pan with aluminum foil and bake at 200 for one hour.

Stir the mixture every 15 minutes.

Makes 9-10 servings (1 cup each)

Nutrition Facts

Alicia’s Chex Mix Zesty – Chex Mix home made

Calories 151 Sodium 312 mg
Total Fat 6 g Potassium 0 mg
Saturated 0 g Total Carbs 22 g
Polyunsaturated 0 g Dietary Fiber 0 g
Monounsaturated 0 g Sugars 2 g
Trans 0 g Protein 2 g
Cholesterol 0 mg
Vitamin A 15% Calcium 10%
Vitamin C 10% Iron 50%

***************************************

I put each serving in a snack size Ziploc baggie.

Here is the sweet variety….

One box Rice Chex

3 rice cakes

9 tablespoons smart balance

15 Truvia packets

Cinnamon, nutmeg, all spice 1 tbs

1 tbsp vanilla

Pre-heat the oven to 200

Put Rice Chex in bowl; crush rice cakes into small pieces

Mix with Rice Chex

Melt butter in small pan with salt, sugar and spices.

Slowly drip the melted mixture over the chex and rice cakes.

Stir the mixture each time and place it in a shallow baking pan

Line the pan with aluminum foil and bake at 200 for one hour.

Stir the mixture every 15 minutes.

***************************************

Nutrition Facts

Alicia’s Sweet Chex Mix

Calories 121 Sodium 323 mg
Total Fat 5 g Potassium 0 mg
Saturated 0 g Total Carbs 19 g
Polyunsaturated 0 g Dietary Fiber 0 g
Monounsaturated 0 g Sugars 2 g
Trans 0 g Protein 2 g
Cholesterol 0 mg
Vitamin A 0% Calcium 0%
Vitamin C 0% Iron 0%
3 thoughts on “My Chex Mix Recipes

    1. aliciabozza Post author

      Just me for now…trying to convince others, to no avail. I love it! Less pimples, more energy, I lost a little weight, sleeping better and no gas, or stomach issues! Love it! By the way, it is important to experiment to get the right taste. I made a batch yesterday and was not too keen on the nutmeg, so I will probably not include it next time.
      Alicia

      Reply
      1. aliciabozza Post author

        Why? I was having issues after having a stomach virus this winter and I was feeling sick for almost three weeks! I was so sick, I could not sleep! I was desperate and would try anything, so I figured, what the heck? I have nothing to lose! I was right. The symptoms went away quickly and there is no turning back!! I thought it would be very hard, but it is not. I also read about the blood type diet and I heard mu blood type was supposed to stay away from wheat, so that was a clue as well for me. http://Www.bloodtypediet.com. (Dr. Adamo)
        Alicia

Leave a Reply

