The New Little House on the Prarie

I recently was made aware of a show called Lark Rise to Candleford.  I just love watching a show that is full of the joys and the sadness of life in a plain, wholesome, way.  I watch it on YouTube, so I can watch it at any time.  It is so  much fun to be able to see it whenever I like.

It is very much like Little House on the Prairie, except the main character, Laura, is older and lives away from home. Lark Rise to Candleford. is based on the writings of Flora Thompson who was from an English countryside. She is very studious, so her family sends her to the adjacent town to work with her Mother’s cousin, Dorcas as an assistant in the Post Office.

I just love watching it so much and love that I can share it with my younger kids without worrying that I would have to quickly turn it off or make them close their eyes.  I wish there were more shows like it.

One of its other main characters, Robert Timmons, Laura’s father is very much like “Pa” (Michael Landon) from Little House.  He (Brendan Coyle) is now filming the new season of Downton Abbey, where he plays Mr. John Bates.  I fell in love with Downton Abbey and a friend pointed me in the direction of Lark Rise to distract me until Downton Abbey comes back.  (Not airing again until 2013!!)

Anyway, if you are a big fan of Little House and would like to watch some wholesome television, take a look at Lark Rise to Candleford.  I am sure you will not be disappointed.

Loudly yours,

Alicia

Leave a Reply

