Happy Belated Birthday, Dr. Suess!

“Today you are You, that is truer than true. There is no one alive who is Youer than You.”― Dr. Seuss

Yesterday was the birthday of Dr. Seuss…he would have been 108 years old if he were still alive today. He has brought so much joy to his readers, we all know he still lives every time someone picks up one of his books.

I really love the quote posted above. It is so….true…for lack of better words.

In my lenten reading, I recently came across a passage that really touched me.  It is taken from “The Little Black Book” that was given to me at the church I attend every Sunday.  The book is based on the writings of Bishop Ken Untener and put together with the help of Sr. Nancy Ayotte, IHM who works with the Catechesis of the Good Shepherd.

“….as God’s childy, I have a destiny.  I am called by God to do something that no one else is given to do.  No matter what circumstances I may have been born into, I am to fulfill part of God’s plan.  The path to my happiness in this life and the next is to simply carry out what it is that God has given me to do.  It may seem small in the panorama of millions of years and eternity, but it is greatness.”

To me, that means that I have a reason for being, no matter how small or how big.  Even small beginnings can become a big deal in the end, even if I don’t see it in my lifetime.  Take for instance, my Daddy, who never held a job that would be deemed important, but because of his faith and his “yes” to God’s call, he has been able to minister to people about God’s love through a little movie documentary that was filmed in the basement of our modest Belleville home.  Daddy was a part of a movement in the Catholic Church called Renew and Channel 5 came to our home to make a documentary (it was such a BIG deal when it happened!!)  It was a hit at the time in the 70s, but it has continued being a hit all over the world and it still continues to this day.  Daddy’s little prayer group that met every week in our basement was chosen to be used in very big way.  God has his ways and sometimes they are unbeknownst to our eyes.  Thankfully, I was able to tell my Dad and let him know what a difference he was making in the world in the name of Jesus. Needless to say, I am proud and know that God uses us all no matter how big or small.

Loudly yours,

Alicia

Leave a Reply

