The Girl Scout Law

I was treated to a Brownie Ceremony yesterday at my local public school. My Daughter is a part of troop that meets there a couple of times a month.

They had a little play that told the legend of the Brownies,

They got some new badges,

and said the Girl Scout Law posted above…

I was very proud that our Troop stuck to the original Law and did not change any words.  It was recited just as I recited it as a Girl Scout myself.  It is interesting to realize that all those years ago, when I was in Girl Scouts, it must have had a profound enough effect on me that I still strive to live by their rules to this day.  Do I keep and follow every rule? Of course not….but I do strive to follow them and am disappointed when I do not.

The Girl Scout Law

I will do my best to be:
honest and fair,
friendly and helpful,
considerate and caring,
courageous and strong, and
responsible for what I say and do,
and to
respect myself and others,
respect authority,
use resources wisely,
make the world a better place, and
be a sister to every Girl Scout.

Once a Girl Scout, always a Girl Scout!

Loudly yours,

Alicia

Leave a Reply

